A 46-year-old man was arrested in Franklin, Indiana for mowing his neighbors' lawn without their permission while drunk. Barry Ridge was arrested while driving down the road on his red lawnmower and blew 0.189 on the breathalyzer test. This was not the first time he had been arrested for DUI while on his lawnmower. Mr. Ridge had previously been arrested for driving drunk on his lawnmower while in the parking lot of a Kroger grocery store.
While people typically think of driving under the influence (DUI) as occurring in a car, Georgia law makes it illegal to drive while intoxicated by drugs or alcohol in a "vehicle." An experienced Fulton County DUI attorney can help you know the law and how it may protect you.
What is a Vehicle Under Georgia Law?
The term "vehicle" is very broad and covers a lot of objects you might mistakenly think you can operate while intoxicated without breaking the law. The legal definition of a vehicle under Georgia law is "every device in, upon, or by which any person or property is or may be transported or drawn upon a highway, excepting devices used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks."
Okay ... what does that mean? Some common examples of vehicles include:
- All-Terrain Vehicles
This list cannot include every possibility, but it is important to understand that it is more than the just the typical vehicle you see on your road every day that could cause a DUI arrest. If you operate a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher while in Georgia, you could be arrested.
Biking Under the Influence
Maybe the most common misconception people have when it comes to DUI is that because they had too much to drink, riding a bike is better than getting in a car. In fact, Georgia traffic laws apply equally to bikes as they do to cars, so a BAC of 0.08% or higher on a bicycle is still an offense for which you can be arrested.
Even if you think you are steady on your bike, police officers may pull you over for any infraction, such as not having a proper bike light.
Boating Under the Influence
You're out on your fishing boat with some friends, relaxing, and having a few drinks. You are moving to a spot you think will be better when a waterway official stops you. Under the Georgia Boat Safety Act, the official does not even need reasonable suspicion to stop you to perform a "safety check."
You don't feel intoxicated but you blow 0.09% on the breathalyzer test. In Georgia, a BAC of 0.08% or higher applies to boats just as it does to the types of vehicles listed above. You can be charged with boating under the influence and be subject to legal sanctions. If the individual pulled over is under 21 years old, there is a zero tolerance party for boating under the influence.
Your boating privileges can be suspended for a year and you may be required to participate in a drug or alcohol abuse program. You can be charged and given a fine of up to $1,000.
If you have been arrested for DUI while in Fulton County, on whatever vehicle, you should consult with an experienced Fulton County DUI attorney. Your attorney can evaluate the unique facts of your case and provide you the best legal advice. Contact us today for your free consultation.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment